Proper Form in Competitive Programming

Revision en1, by mredigonda, 2021-10-28 14:48:47

Link to blog post in my website: https://mredigonda.github.io/blog/proper-form-in-competitive-programming/

I recently started lifting weights and exercising more, I wish I would've done that while I was practicing for IOI / ICPC.

My mind kept telling me that an hour in the gym was an hour I could've spent practicing for competitions, and while that was technically correct, that didn't took into account all of the benefits from exercising, not only to my health but also directly to my performance in competitions.

One important aspect that I think would've benefitted me from exercising more is the analogy of exercise and problem solving. Actually, when practicing for competitive programming competitions, I even call it "training" too.

Not all of the analogies will match perfectly, but I find it interesting to analyze them.

There are the straightforward analogies about challenging yourself. While these are kind of trivial, they can be useful to someone.

For example, the common advice is "practice practice practice", but in the gym, if you "practice practice practice" with the same weights every time, you will have a hard time trying to lift heavier weights.

The same is true for problem solving, if you always solve problems, say, with 1800 rating points on Codeforces, you won't be able to easily solve problems with rating 2300.

So you not only need to practice practice practice, but do so with problems that challenge you enough so that you learn new things, or improve the confidence on already existing knowledge / speed. Something similar is explained in The 'science' of training in competitive programming.

I have a less obvious analogy.