Some questions about Informatics Olympiad preparation

Revision en1, by kayak, 2018-05-02 19:37:16

Hello Codeforces, I'm new to competitive programming (that's I know basic c++ syntax and basic algorithms like what's in first half of "Algorithm Design"). I have a bit of math contest background (nothing good, I couldn't even make to national MO camp. Just saying this because I know a bit of combinatorics/number theory so I don't need to relearn the basic combinatorics again for OI). I have a few questions:

1. Are Codeforces problems good for practice? Which other judges/contests (eg: COCI) other than USACO are good for OI practice, and where I can find the judge for submission and official editorials ? For USACO, is there some places where I can read the alternative solutions to a problem rather than the ones mentioned in the official editorial?

2. While learning some C++ libraries (eg STL), should I practice implementing the features myself before learning them ? Also, which sites are good for learning the standard libraries used in OI ? I tried bunch of USACO problems, and silver ones looked easy and platinum ones looked too hard and requiring a decent algorithmic knowledge, and gold seems to be fit (hard but not too hard) for my purposes now but I don't have good implementation skills and knowledge of C++ libraries (eg idk any of <bits>/<algorithm>/<stlib>) required to code the problems.