How I Stay Productive in Self-Isolation

Revision en1, by RomeoFantastik, 2020-03-30 00:21:34

Usual shameless self-advertisement!

Hey, guys! Lately I have seen a lot of my buddies' productivity graphs looking like this:

So, I've decided to share 3 tips from my life experience about how I manage to keep myself motivated, focus and productive as hell.

P.S: I am a Computer Science student auto-isolated in my dorm room. We are talking about 40 m³ here. It's pretty easy for a guy like me to get nuts in a situation like this. So let's get it started:

1. Put on a suit!

No bro, I'm not joking. It might sound stupid, but it's a game changer. As I said, I live in a dorm room, so it's really easy to get off track when your bed is literally 0.5 meters away from the table you study. The table you study on is the same one you eat on. Then I have the sink 2 meters away.

This setup almost screams a schedule like: wake up late, then watch some funny Youtube video, then eat something, take another nap, brush your teeth and play computer games. By putting a suit on, I imagine I am the CEO of my company, the king of my empire.

Yes, my empire is a dorm room, but every king with his empire. So it's a psychological anchor for me: when I have the suit on, I am beast mode. I work. I don't eat with a suit on, I don't play with a suit on, I don't sleep with a suit on. I just work.

Try it for 2 days. You don't have a suit? That's cool. Jeans and a t-shirt should do it. Anything else but pyjamas or underwear. You're a coder, not Superman!

2. Stay away from unhealthy food!

I know we are all programmers and we care about the mind, not the body yada yada, bullshit! Point me to one guy who would like to look like this: