[Tutorial] Generating Functions in Competitive Programming (Part 1)

Revision en7, by zscoder, 2020-05-16 14:10:32

Hi everyone! Inspired by the recent Codeforces Round 641, I decided to write an introductory tutorial on generating functions here. I am by no means an expert in generating functions so I will write about what I currently know about them. jqdai0815 has written a really interesting blog here on Codeforces about more advanced applications of generating functions, but I think there is no English tutorial on the basics of this topic yet (or at least on CP sites). Thus, I would like to share about this topic here.

I plan to split this tutorial into two parts. The first part (this post) will be an introduction to generating functions for those who have never learned about them at all, and some standard examples and showcases of generating functions. The second part will be a collection of several applications of generating functions in CP-style problems. If you are already familiar with generating functions, you may just skip to Part 2 directly.

In this part, many examples are from the book generatingfunctionology which I think is also a great introductory material to generating functions.

What are Generating Functions?

Let's say we have a sequence $$$a_0, a_1, a_2, ...$$$. We associate with $$$a$$$ a series $$$A$$$ which "encodes" the terms in $$$a$$$ with its coefficients.

Formally, for a sequence of numbers $$$\{a_{i}\}_{i=0}^{\infty}$$$, we define the ordinary generating function (OGF) of $$$a$$$ to be $$$A(x) = \displaystyle\sum_{i=0}^{\infty}a_{i}x^{i}$$$.

For example, consider the Fibonacci sequence $$$f$$$ with the terms $$$0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, …$$$. Then, $$$F(x) = 0 + x + x^{2} + 2x^{3} + 3x^{4} + 5x^{5} + 8x^{6} + …$$$.